経歴 / Biography

私の経歴 / Biography

Hi there, I'm Sadao.
Born and bred in Tokyo, Japan. But somehow I ended up living in Queenstown, New Zealand and being a full time hiking guide all over the globe. This is a bit of history of me!

こんにちは!
ニュージーランド南島クイーンズタウンでトレッキングガイドをしている土屋貞夫です。東京都出身の私がなぜニュージーランドに移住してきたのか、ちょっとだけ自己紹介させてください。

I love outdoors. Since when I was a teenager, I think. This is why I decided to study forestry in Shinshu University. The university is the one that all high school students in Japan who loves outdoor admire to enter. It is the centre for all sort of mountain researches and located right next to the Japanese Alps. I spent most of time fly fishing in a river next to the campus in summers, and managed to condence all lectures into three days a week and went for tele-skiing for rest of the week in winters. That time I found that my body can't cope and need rest if I go for skiing seven days a week!

高校時代から渓流釣りが好きで、キャンパスのすぐ隣にヤマメやイワナの釣れる川がある信州大学農学部森林科学科を選びました。信州大学は山好きの学生が集まる大学で、その中でも森林科学科は理学部地質学科、医学部医学科と並ぶバンカラ色の強い学科。大学時代には、夏はフライフィッシングに出かけ、冬は講義のある日をまとめて、週4日間はスキーをしていました。

なぜニュージーランドかと言うと。。。2001年の夏、森林科学科の教授から「土屋くん、オーストラリアか、ニュージーランドか、アメリカのどれが良い?」と聞かれたのがきっかけでした。何も考えず「夏にスキーができるニュージーランドが良いなぁ」と答えたところ、その年の秋には北島のルアトリアという過疎の村で森林伐採と土壌浸食の研究を手伝いをすることになりました。それ以降は2006年まで毎年2~3ヶ月、ニュージーランドに滞在しました。ルアトリアは一番近い都市ギスボーン(と言っても人口4万人ほど)から車で2時間、マオリの人口が多い地方です。先進国と言っても開発が非常に遅れていてショックを受けましたが、ゆったりとした時間感覚はとても魅力的でした。

What brought me to New Zealand? In 2001 I was asked "Which country do you like? - Australia, New Zealand or United States" by the professor when I wanted to contine master's course. I have heard skiers and snowboarders go to New Zealand for training in summer, so I answered "New Zealand". Three months later I was sent to Ruatoria for the research. Not many people has been kidnapped to Ruatoria straight away after entering the country. Ruatoria is remote and the life there is interesting - courier substitutes public bus service, power cut happens once a week and kids riding horse to go to school. But I thought this life style is pretty good.

2006年11月には北海道大学大学院をやめ、研究の道から大きく舵を切りました。夏の間、ニュージーランド北島トンガリロ国立公園で自然保護省の山小屋管理人として働いたあとは、南島のトレッキングトラックを縦走してクイーンズタウンまで歩いてきました。このとき、始めてロングトレイルの魅力に取りつかれ、2007年の夏からはクイーンズタウンを本拠にして、ミルフォードトラック、ルートバーントラックとグリーンストーントラックの長距離トレッキングのガイドとして働いています。ニュージーランドが冬の間は、初夏のヨーロッパアルプスで日本のお客さまをハイキングにご案内し、シーズンの端境期にスキーをして満足する生活をしています。ここ数年は、ニュージーランド南島で行われるトレイルランやマウンテンバイクの大会にも積極的に参加しています。

In November 2006 I decided to throw away all my academic career in Japan, and moved to New Zealand completely. After my first job as a hut warden in Tongariro National Park, I tramped across the South Island from Queen Charlotte Track to Routeburn-Greenstone Track. This three months was my very first long trail experience and I heard about a hiking guide job. Since the following summer I started a full time hiking guide which I work for Milford, Routeburn and Greenstone Tracks in summer, European Alps in their summer and little bit of winter in between. I also join some local trail runnning and mountain biking races since 2008.

私の職務経歴 / Work History